The Peacemakers: CD


Release date: 23 February, 2024

The Peacemakers, a choral work composed by Karl Jenkins and a sequel to his best-selling work The Armed Man: A Mass for Peace, offers inspiration and solace for a time in need of both. It features texts from some of the greatest peacemakers throughout history, including Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr., the Dalai Lama, Nelson Mandela, Anne Frank and Mother Teresa, as well as words from the Bible and the Qur an with some new text specially written by Terry Waite.

The London Symphony Orchestra is joined by different vocal forces including Rundfunkchor Berlin, the City of Birmingham Youth Chorus, and the 1000-strong 'The Really Big Chorus' made up of members of UK choirs from across the country brought together in one day, in one studio, to contribute to two movements on the album. Guest artists include violinist Chloë Hanslip, soprano Lucy Crowe, Davy Spillane on Uilleann pipes, Indian bansuri (ethnic flute) player Ashwin Srinivasan and jazz greats Nigel Hitchcock and Laurence Cottle.

1. The Peacemakers: I. Blessed Are The Peacemakers
2. The Peacemakers: II. Fanfara
3. The Peacemakers: III. Peace, Peace!
4. The Peacemakers: IV. I Offer You Peace
5. The Peacemakers: V. Inner Peace
6. The Peacemakers: VI. Healing Light: A Celtic Prayer
7. The Peacemakers: VII. A Meditation: Peace Is
8. The Peacemakers: VIII. Evening Prayer
9. The Peacemakers: IX. Solitude (For Chloë Hanslip)
10. The Peacemakers: X. Fiat Pax In Virtue Tua
11. The Peacemakers: XI. He Had A Dream: Elegy For Martin Luther King
12. The Peacemakers: XII. The Dove (For Astrid May)
13. The Peacemakers: XIII. The Peace Prayer Of St Francis Of Assisi
14. The Peacemakers: XIV. One Song
15. The Peacemakers: XV. Let There Be Justice For All
16. The Peacemakers: XVI. Dona nobis pacem
17. The Peacemakers: XVII. Anthem: Peace, Triumphant Peace

CD Album
Decca Records